Are fortune cookies gluten-free? is one of the most frequently asked questions in online food forums, and we’ll be providing you with detailed answers shortly.
Popular as they are, fortune cookies are sweet crispy small cake-like pastries usually wrapped around mysterious sayings commonly known as “fortunes.” With more than 3 billion fortune cookies made every year worldwide, more people are becoming interested in what exactly goes into their making.
Are fortune cookies gluten-free? It is one of the main questions that commonly pop up.
If you’re also eager to find out whether your favorite dessert contains gluten, you’re in the right place. In this article, we’ll provide you with a straightforward yet comprehensive answer to this particular question.
Before we examine the exact ingredients that go into making these toothsome delights, let’s first cover the origin of fortune cookies.
The Fortune Cookie History
As already implied, fortune cookies are sugary baked/cooked snacks that usually contain printed revelations on a strip of paper. Its origin has widely been unknown over the years, but recent research findings conclusively showed that fortune cookies originated from Japan.
Unlike earlier beliefs that fortune cookies were from China, there is significant evidence that these pastries were already being made in a family-owned bakery in Kyoto. Interestingly, all these can be traced back to the late 19th century.
But the main question still remains to be, are fortune cookies gluten-free?
What Are Fortune Cookies Made of?
To comprehensively answer the question, are fortune cookies gluten-free? It’s imperative that we first address the different ingredients that go into their making. Considered a pastry snack, fortune cookie ingredients widely include a usual base of sugar, flour, vanilla essence, and sesame seed oil.
They’re commonly synonymous with most Asian traditions and are widely served in Asian-based restaurants around the globe.
I know that the base ingredients can easily lead you to believe that fortune cookies are gluten-free, but unfortunately, that’s not the case. Most of the mentioned components are plant-based, mainly featuring wheat-based flour, meaning that the most straightforward answer to the question is fortune cookies gluten-free is a big no.
Although different cookie cuisines are trying to reinvent the fortune cookie-making formula, most of their ingredients mainly include gluten-laden wheat flour in their processes. Here’s a brief highlight of everything you need to know about gluten-free foods for those wondering what the fuss is all about gluten.
The Gluten Highlight
Gluten mainly refers to a plant-based protein usually found in grains such as wheat, rye, barley, and spelt. Its consumption usually doesn’t have any nutritional value to the body but is potentially harmful to about 1% of the world’s population that are widely gluten intolerant.
There are varied forms of gluten intolerance, but the worst ones generally include celiac disease and wheat allergy. Keeping the “are fortune cookies gluten-free” in mind, you can easily piece up the essence of having this information, right?
Fortune cookies are increasingly becoming popular amidst the recent surge in gluten-free food awareness. So, are fortune cookies gluten-free? From our comprehensive discussion above, it’s easy to point out that they aren’t, so long as their base ingredients include wheat flour.
Therefore, if you’re suffering from any gluten intolerance issue, it’s generally best that you first countercheck the provided nutritional guide from your favorite fortune cookie vendor before eating it. This manual will reveal all the necessary allergen and ingredient information that you’ll need. Otherwise, you can also decide to make your gluten-free fortune cookies back at home. Search for gluten-free recipes for homemade fortune cookies. Otherwise, we hope that you’ll share the information, especially to those asking – are fortune cookies gluten-free?